Activation Lock

WiFi Security Scan : Network Protector

Anonymous's picture
No votes yet

To protect malicious Wi-Fi hotspots, messenger applications data and secure your privacy LEO Privacy Guard 3.0 can be used in android or iOS mobile phones and tablets.

iOS 7: Supervision disables Find My iPhone Activation Lock, and vice-versa

Your rating: None (2 votes)

Is Activation Lock appropriate on a corporate-owned device? Community member Duane Herring found the Apple support document below that shows Apple has been thinking about this too.

iOS 7: Mobile Device Management and Find My iPhone Activation Lock

Learn how to manage Activation Lock feature of Find My iPhone in iOS 7.

With iOS 7, when you turn on Find My iPhone, you enable Activation Lock. Activation Lock prevents anyone else from reactivating your iOS device if it is lost or stolen. Mobile device administrators can manage this setting by supervising devices.

If you use Apple Configurator to supervise an iOS 7 device, Activation Lock will not be enabled when a user turns on Find My iPhone.

If an iOS 7 device is not supervised, Activation Lock will be enabled as soon as a user logs in to iCloud and turns on Find My iPhone. Mobile device management cannot prevent a user from enabling Activation Lock on an unsupervised device.

In any case, only the iCloud user who enabled Activation Lock can disable it.

If the user has access to the iOS device, they can turn it off in Settings > iCloud > Find My iPhone.
If the user doesn't have access to the iOS device, they can log in to icloud.com or the Find My iPhone app on another iOS device, then erase the device and remove it from the device list.
A mobile device administrator cannot disable Activation Lock after it is enabled.

Find more information about Find My iPhone Activation Lock.

Additional Information

If you use Apple Configurator to prepare a device that has Find My iPhone enabled, you will see the message "Unable to check iOS."

If the device was previously unsupervised, Activation Lock is enabled and the iCloud user who enabled Find My iPhone must disable it before you can prepare the device.

If the device was previously supervised, either the iCloud user who enabled Find My iPhone can disable it, or you can put the device into recovery mode and then prepare it.

This can be a sticky problem. Does Apple's solution work for you? Please continue the comment thread...

iOS 7 - device reuse can be difficult

cenders's picture
No votes yet

With Find My iPhone turned on in iOS 7, your Apple ID password will always be required before anyone can Erase the iphone or reactivate and use the device.

So if we fire someone and they fail to give us their Apple ID password, they have effectively locked out of the phone preventing it from being re-used.

How are enterprises going to deal with this? Is there an MDM solution out there that can circumvent this or load a profile that prevents this scenario from happening?

Recent Activity