Basic queries about MDM

GC's picture

GC

No votes yet

Hi,
I'm a newbie to MDM and am still trying to figure out how all the pieces fit together. Have a query I hope the Gurus can help answer.

Is the following correct? From the moment it registers itself with Apple, each device maintains a persistent connection with the APNS service via the "apsd" deamon. This connection serves as the underlying "pipe" that helps the apsd deamon, on its part, offer the publish-subscribe service that helps client apps (aka the subscribes) receive "messages" from the publisher (aka APNS in this case). If this is true then

My query concerns how a device gets its unique token from APNS. Per my understanding, an application needs to register itself with APNS for it to be able to receive notifications...and as a part of this registration process, the APNS service returns a unique App Specific "token" to the app...how does this pan out in the MDM context...what's this app? Who decides the topic to use? The reason for me to ask this is because the MDM Check-In protocol requires the device to send the "Topic" and "Token" during the final TokenUpdate step. Without an app, where does the "Topic" and "Token" come from?

Any responses would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks and Regds

Aaron Freimark's picture

Aaron Freimark

The answer: mdmd

Your rating: None

Great question. How does the MDM protocol work is there is no app installed on the device?

It works because ALL MDM systems use the same daemon on the device side, called "mdmd". This service is part of iOS and is installed on every iOS device, although it may not be active.

So yeah, MDM is actually managed by Apple. This is why all MDM providers are pretty limited to the same set of features: Apple is running the device end of the connection. And this is why a snafu like iOS 9.2 can mess up MDM app installation for ALL MDM providers.

On the other hand, maybe it's why MDM tends to be pretty reliable.

--