How To Handle A Gift of 50 iPads

jank50's picture

jank50

No votes yet

Just joined this group and I ask for your forbearance - I'm new to all this.

I work for an agency that serves people with developmental disabilities and we have about 55 locations in Westchester County, NY. Some generous peopel gave us a donation of 50 iPads and I'm trying to rationally deploy them! I'd like to be able to synch them remotley for iOS and app updates to avoid a lot of travel. The devices would be shared at the remote locations amongst several clients and the slection of apps would be limited to about 20 or so. Of course, since we're a non-proift, funds are limited, so whatever solutions are available, they must be affordable.

Thanks for your input.

Jordan

P.S. Any suggestions for iPad cases without covers that would be durable?

jesselvella's picture

jesselvella

A Few Ideas

Your rating: None

Jordan,

The first thing you may want is an MDM or Mobile Device Management solution. This will allow you to remotely manage the iPads. Meraki www.meraki.com offers a free MDM which in opinion is one of the best. You can push apps, deploy profiles to manage certain settings, and even use Meraki's System Manager app to essentially remotely locate iPads via a GPS type look up. Keep in mind that all sounds amazing but of course there are certain caveats with iOS devices but I am sure we can help with that. There are also things to think about such as Apple IDs to use and deployment methods as far as how much to lock the devices down. Check out Meraki and if you have questions please let us know.

Gumdrop is a pretty nice durable iPad case.

Thanks!
Jesse

jb's picture

jb

If your group can afford