Multiple MDM solutions managing 1 device?

MaciekSA's picture

MaciekSA

No votes yet

Hi

I work in the Enterprise Mobility space, as this area matures I have started to see the need for a single device, usually at board level being used in multiple organisations.

The question posed is can a device be enrolled into multiple MDM solutions?

Anyone else stumbleupon this?

Thanks

cape_doctor's picture

cape_doctor

quick answer...

Your rating: None

...the quick answer to this is "No". You can only be enrolled to one MDM server at a time. Imagine the push notification coming to the device telling it to contact it's MDM server....and there would be multiple of them...this wouldn't work and it's not even possible to attempt enrolling into a 2nd MDM server.

luvjesus2day's picture

luvjesus2day

Any possible solutions....then?

I am a Security Officer at a health system where we have physicians traveling between our facilities and our competitor just blocks away from us. We both have been considering MDM solutions but doubtful they would be from the same vendor. We have considered the idea of trying to put together a "community based" solution where we all put some funding $$ into the purchase and all have rights to make changes (coordinated of course).

Any other thoughts or ideas of anything else we could do to still allow each of us to have the power to enforce our own security policies and maintain our autonomy while still allowing the physicians to travel between facilities? Neither of us issue devices to these physicians because they are not our employees. The phones we would be controlling would be their personal devices.

Justynroberts's picture

Justynroberts

Let me try to help.

My question might be why can you not agree on a MDM system ? Two would be a nightmare as cape_doctor said.. Even if you had one, which policy should override ? Most restrictive ? least restrictive ?? last applied??